I, Djlelati, do take creative writing to be my spiritually wedded partner, secure in the knowledge that she may be volatile, resistant and hurtful.

I affirm in the eyes of God, life, and myself that I will stay by her side, in sickness and in health, in joy and in sorrow, through the good times and the bad, as her partner, friend, lover.

I understand that creative writing will require work, dedication and a willingness to be flexible and compromise. That I may not always be comfortable, or content, or happy, but I commit to undertaking tasks that will help our relationship become stronger, healthier, and more fruitful.

I agree to work on my writing daily, even if it is just one line of poetry or one piece of dialogue. I will stop editing as I write, I will let my mind wander, I will stop stifling my own thoughts.

 

