The night is crowned

An Olympian feast

Of color and sound

Now unleash the beast

 

One hit; I am blind

It’s what keeps me alive

My body and mind

Need this to survive

 

More than the usual

Bit of this; bit of that

It’s all so beautiful

Gets me back on track

 

Inhale, then exhale

And repeat, and again

True nature unveiled

So this is my zen

 

The world rushes on

It seeps through my veins

Quiet, withdrawn

It kills all the pain

 

And now – disengage

I can hardly breathe

I feel like I’m caged

Yet incredibly free

 

Dull, but in focus

The world seems to be

Alive, but soulless

I soon reach my peak

 

But my mind disbands

I’m spiraling lower

It’s not how I planned

My senses are slower

 

This is my life:

A realization so strong

Like a cut from a knife

Where did I go wrong?

 

Relief – I feel colder

It all fades to black

My haze has gone over

Sobriety came back

 

“Just take a few hits,”

Is what everyone said

But this, I admit

Won’t help me when I’m dead.

 

 

